Nearly 40% of plant species are very rare and vulnerable to climate change

Activity Guide Fleurs

Nearly 40% of the world's terrestrial plant species are classified as very rare, and these species are the most threatened with extinction as the climate continues to change, according to new research by the University of Arizona-LED Research.

The results are published in a special issue of Science Advances that coincides with the 2019 United Nations Climate Change Conference, also known as COP25, in Madrid. COP25 brings nations together to act on climate change. The international meeting will take place from December 2 to 13.

"When we talk about global biodiversity, we had a good approximation of the total number of terrestrial plant species, but we didn't really know how many there really are," said lead author Brian Enquist, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology at the University of Arizona.

Thirty-five researchers from institutions around the world have worked for 10 years to compile 20 million observations of the world's terrestrial plants. The result is the largest set of botanical biodiversity data ever created. Researchers hope that this information can help reduce global biodiversity loss by informing strategic conservation measures that take into account the effects of climate change. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

They discovered that there are about 435,000 unique terrestrial plant species on Earth.

Activity Guide Fleurs des champs
Activity Guide lotus Lac
Activity Guide Fleurs Insecte

"So it's an important number to have, but it's also an accounting issue. What we really wanted to understand was the nature of this diversity and what will happen to it in the future," said Mr. Enquist. "Some species are found everywhere, like the Starbucks of plant species. But others are very rare. Think of a small independent coffee shop."

Enquist and his team revealed that 36.5% of all terrestrial plant species are "extremely rare".This means that they have only been observed and recorded less than five times.

"According to ecological and evolutionary theory, one would expect many species to be rare, but the actual number of observed species we found was actually quite surprising," he says. "There are many more rare species than expected."

In addition, the researchers found that rare species tend to cluster in a handful of hot spotssuch as the Northern Andes in South America, Costa Rica, South Africa, Madagascar and South-East Asia. They found that these regions have remained climatologically stable as the world emerged from the last ice age, allowing such rare species to survive.

But just because these species have enjoyed a relatively stable climate in the past does not mean that they will have a stable future. The research also revealed that these hotspots of very rare species are expected to experience a disproportionately high rate of future climate change and human disturbance," said Dr. Enquist.

"We have learned that in many of these regions, human activity is increasing, particularly in agriculture, cities and villages, land use and clearing. So it's not exactly the best news," he says. "If nothing is done, all this indicates that there will be a significant reduction in diversity - mainly of rare species - because their small numbers make them more vulnerable to extinction.

And it is these rare species that science knows very little about.

By focusing on the identification of rare species," this work is better able to highlight the dual threat of climate change and human impact on regions that are home to a large proportion of the world's rare plant species and highlights the need for strategic conservation to protect these cradles of biodiversity," said Patrick Roehrdanz, co-author of the document and Chief Scientist at Conservation International.

Orchidée Bleues Activity Guide
bottlebrush Arbuste Activity Guide

Près de 40% des espèces végétales sont très rares et vulnérables au changement climatique

Activity Guide Fleurs

Près de 40 % des espèces mondiales de plantes terrestres sont classées comme très rares, et ces espèces sont les plus menacées d'extinction à mesure que le climat continue de changer, selon de nouvelles recherches menées par la "University of Arizona-LED Research".

Les résultats sont publiés dans un numéro spécial de Science Advances qui coïncide avec la Conférence des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques de 2019, également connue sous le nom de COP25, à Madrid. La COP25 réunit les nations pour agir sur le changement climatique. La rencontre internationale se déroulera du 2 au 13 décembre.

"Lorsque nous parlons de biodiversité mondiale, nous avions une bonne approximation du nombre total d'espèces de plantes terrestres, mais nous ne savions pas vraiment combien il y en a réellement ", a déclaré l'auteur principal Brian Enquist, professeur d'écologie et de biologie de l'évolution à l'Université d'Arizona.

Trente-cinq chercheurs d'institutions du monde entier ont travaillé pendant 10 ans pour compiler 20 millions de relevés d'observation des plantes terrestres du monde. Le résultat est le plus grand ensemble de données sur la biodiversité botanique jamais créé. Les chercheurs espèrent que cette information pourra aider à réduire la perte de biodiversité mondiale en éclairant les mesures de conservation stratégiques qui tiennent compte des effets du changement climatique.

Ils ont découvert qu'il existe environ 435 000 espèces de plantes terrestres uniques sur Terre.

Activity Guide Fleurs des champs
Activity Guide lotus Lac
Activity Guide Fleurs Insecte

"C'est donc un chiffre important à avoir, mais c'est aussi une question de comptabilité. Ce que nous voulions vraiment comprendre, c'est la nature de cette diversité et ce qu'il adviendra de cette diversité dans l'avenir ", a dit M. Enquist. "Certaines espèces se trouvent partout, comme les Starbucks des espèces végétales. Mais d'autres sont très rares. Pensez à un petit café indépendant."

Enquist et son équipe ont révélé que 36,5% de toutes les espèces de plantes terrestres sont "extrêmement rares", ce qui signifie qu'elles n'ont été observées et enregistrées que moins de cinq fois.

"Selon la théorie écologique et évolutive, on s'attendrait à ce que de nombreuses espèces soient rares, mais le nombre réel d'espèces observées que nous avons trouvé était en fait assez surprenant," dit-il. "Il y a beaucoup plus d'espèces rares que prévu."

De plus, les chercheurs ont constaté que les espèces rares ont tendance à se regrouper dans une poignée de points chauds, comme les Andes du Nord en Amérique du Sud, au Costa Rica, en Afrique du Sud, à Madagascar et en Asie du Sud-Est. Ces régions, ont-ils constaté, sont demeurées stables sur le plan climatologique à mesure que le monde émergeait de la dernière période glaciaire, ce qui a permis la survie d'espèces aussi rares.

Mais ce n'est pas parce que ces espèces ont bénéficié d'un climat relativement stable dans le passé qu'elles auront un avenir stable. La recherche a également révélé que ces points chauds d'espèces très rares devraient connaître un taux disproportionnellement élevé de changements climatiques futurs et de perturbations anthropiques, a déclaré M. Enquist.

"Nous avons appris que dans bon nombre de ces régions, l'activité humaine augmente, notamment dans l'agriculture, les villes et les villages, l'utilisation des terres et le défrichage. Ce n'est donc pas exactement la meilleure des nouvelles ", dit-il. "Si rien n'est fait, tout cela indique qu'il y aura une réduction significative de la diversité - principalement des espèces rares - parce que leur faible nombre les rend plus vulnérables à l'extinction.

Et ce sont ces espèces rares que la science connaît très peu.

En se concentrant sur l'identification des espèces rares, " ce travail est mieux à même de mettre en évidence la double menace du changement climatique et de l'impact humain sur les régions qui abritent une grande partie des espèces végétales rares du monde et souligne la nécessité d'une conservation stratégique pour protéger ces berceaux de biodiversité ", a déclaré Patrick Roehrdanz, co-auteur du document et responsable scientifique à Conservation International.

Orchidée Bleues Activity Guide
bottlebrush Arbuste Activity Guide